member logon   about the Circus   search for recipes   print this recipe   mimi's cyber kitchen
free registration   member pages   what's new   email this recipe   discussion boards

Our Family's Favorite Allergy-Safe Recipes

No dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts, pecans, or walnuts

We have 2 children with various food allergies, so I have had to change the way I cook. In the beginning, it was difficult for me to find recipes that didn't include their allergens (especially once dairy was added to the list!), but over time I have found a wide variety of recipes that are safe for the whole family.
It can be hard to let others know how to accomodate the kids' dietary needs (when we visit family, for example), so I put together this page to share our favorite recipes so everyone can see the wide variety of foods that we can eat and the number of recipes that can be adapted to be safe.
As a general guideline, just about any kind of cookie, muffin, or cake can be modified to be free from dairy and eggs. Ener-G Egg Replacer (available in most health food stores) works really well in those types of foods. We use rice milk or oat milk as a substitute for cow's milk, and this has worked well in most recipes, although those substitutions don't work well in things that are supposed to have a creamy sauce. As a substitute for butter, I generally use Fleischmann's Unsalted sticks for baking, but for general use (like spreading on toast), we also use Smart Balance Light.
When you read labels, the most common hidden sources of allergens are: whey and casein (cow's milk), albumin (eggs), and hydryolized vegetable protein (soy). Soybean oil, soy lecithin, and peanut oil are generally considered to be safe, and we haven't had any issues with those so far. I generally don't buy anything that has a kosher symbol (U or K) with a "D" after it because that signifies that the product may be contaminated with milk protein, even if it is not listed on the label. I also don't buy products that say they are produced on the same manufacturing line as products containing peanuts, tree nuts, milk or eggs, although I will buy products that just say they are produced in the same factory as other items containing those ingredients. Some people are so allergic that they can't even eat things that are prepared in the same factory as their allergens, but we haven't run into problems with this. Kosher products that include the word "parve" or "pareve" are generally safe as those words indicate that they are free from milk (although some people have had reactions from foods labeled in this way, we haven't had any problems).

Recipe Categories:
CategoryLast Updated
APPETIZERS (1 )Tue 26/Jun/2007 11:56:28
BREAKFAST (1 )Mon 29/Aug/2005 20:09:03
COOKIES (1 )Tue 13/Sep/2005 19:22:12
MAINDISHES (3 )Tue 26/Jun/2007 11:52:49
SALADandDRESSING (1 )Tue 13/Sep/2005 19:25:54
SIDEDISHES (2 )Tue 26/Jun/2007 11:59:19
Browse ALL Recipes
Total Number of Recipes9

Other Places to go:

The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network
Kids With Food Allergies
Eating Dairy Free?

Please Sign My Guest Book

Jennifer Z

This page was generated by found at manny juan's script page




previous page | recipe circus home page | member pages
mimi's cyber kitchen |


You are visitor number